Gerry Wood Auto Group

Is this your dealership? Sign up for a dealer account

Certified Used Dealer, Internet Certified, Customer Appreciation Days

525 Jake Alexander Blvd S, Salisbury, NC 28147 - Map & Directions

Sales: (866) 640-9461

Service: (704) 216-3400

Today 9:00am - 8:00pm
(Closed Now)
show business hours
Oct 12, 2016
Great experience, highly recommend
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Sep 26, 2016
Yes several times. Car was not what I wanted though.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Sep 20, 2016
Bait and switch - list one price, then gave another - oldest car sales trick in the book -
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Sep 4, 2016
I will start off by saying Alan seems like a good guy but we just didn't have a great overall experience at Gerry Wood. We got a very good deal on our Ram 3500 and that's the only reason we went through with the deal...the truck was too good to pass up. I've been buying cars since I was 15. Since the internet provides so much useful information, that only amplifies the research I do before purchasing a vehicle. I had been looking for weeks just scanning the market to see what was available as far as what we were looking for. We had planned to buy a truck in November, but God led us to this one last week. I did a google search and this truck popped up. Seemed too good to be true and it had some features we didn't want/need, was the wrong color, but I thought we should at least go look at it to get a better idea of what we were going to buy when the time came. When we arrived at the dealer to look at it we were told it was in the body shop being repaired. We were disappointed but it wasn't a huge deal as we would be passing through the next day on the way out of town. So we went back the next day to look at it. Imagine my shock when I was told they had raised the price on the truck $2,300!! 1st red flag. I was told that they have a third party consultant who looks at pricing periodically who had looked at it over night and said they needed to raise it. How convenient. My gut told me that my bargaining prowess had just been shot down since the price had gone up. They did agree to honor the price I had seen on-line "today only." We were headed out of town and had to get going. We were mildly pressured by Alan's supervisor to make a deal as there was supposedly another party "90% interested" in buying it. 2nd red flag. I told them we would discuss it on the road and call them later. When I called an hour or so later and made an offer I got a long line of excuses as to why they wouldn't budge on the price, including the fact that they had raised the price since I first found it and letting me know there would be a $699 documentation fee. Good grief!! I countered with 1) it's been on the lot for 3 months (per info on the web listing and CarFax), 2) it was damaged on the lot and had to be repaired) and 3) it wasn't exactly what we were looking for but for the right price I'd buy it. Then came the litany of excuses as to why it hadn't been available for sale for 3 months which was bit on the condescending side of things. No budging on the price, no counter offer from the dealer, basically take it or leave it. 3rd red flag. It was a good deal on a great truck. In spite of the three red flags, we agreed to buy it and are happy we did. Alan was nice in dealing with his portion of the purchase. Cherie was awesome in preparing and explaining all the paperwork (still don't think $699 is reasonable for that) and we appreciated her kindness and levity in handling all that documentation. All in all we got a great truck for a decent price but I would not go back there. Customer service is very important to me and to many people. Our last experience in buying a vehicle was at a dealer in the Concord Mils area and was the best experience I've ever had purchasing a vehicle. Gerry Wood may be doing great business but they sure could use a lesson or two in negotiating with buyers. Nothing personal, but when the dealer gives a little on the negotiations it means a lot to buyers like me and makes us want to go back there next time. Just sayin'...
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Mr. Robert Hickling, we are sorry we let you down. You bring up many concerns, and we have listened. We would like to state that the 2014 Ram 3500 Laramie had 2k miles, and was sold for over $5,000.00 less than market value - because it was in our inventory for 95 days. We didn't budge on price... because it was ridiculously priced to start. We did have another buyer - my personal friend and builder of our race cars - who was waiting for the truck to come out of the shop, as you mentioned. Both you and he wanted to buy it at the same time, and I passed the opportunity to you. My friend will be
 More ...
Aug 16, 2016
This was a horrible experience, the ad said ready to test drive. I call to make sure because I had to drive an hour and a half. Was told I could test drive that day. Got a confirmation email reminding me of my appointment with a certain person to test drive that particular car. Got there and the person I had talked to had already left, and was told the car hasn't been inspected and they couldn't let me drive it. Huge disappointment, especially after me making sure before making the drive. They should have known that about the car from the start.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Dana, we do apologize for this. We absolutely dropped the ball with your experience. I know there is nothing we can do to make you feel better. We did have a management meeting regarding your experience and have put processes in place to prevent it going forward. We regret your experience, but appreciate the feedback so we an address it internally.
Aug 11, 2016
Salesman Brandon was great!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Janelle, thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate you!
Aug 5, 2016
It was one lie from one individual to another. I finally told them do not contact me again. Pretty straight forward, do not contact me again. Was contacted by phone and email around 15 times after that. They start off by saying I dont see why we shouldnt be able to take your offer, then someone else calls you back instead of the first individual that was suppose to contact the manager to get approval to accept your offer. Then passed to another individual. High pressure tactics and no honesty. This truck wont be here long at this price. Fact they had the truck awhile, and days later they lowered the price to almost what I offered them. If you want jerked around and lied to, this is the place you should contact. Otherwise beware!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

As you made clear, we did adjust the price and it was higher than you had offered. The truck eventually sold for our new discounted asking price, which as you stated was more than your offer. We apologize we couldn't get down to your figure. As for pressure, we did try hard to sell you the truck. We always follow up with people who express interest in buying from us. It's a competitive market, and we have to. At the end of the day, if we could have sold the truck for your offer we would have. Unfortunately, this truck was worth just a little more than you felt it was - which we understand and
 More ...
Jul 28, 2016
Pulled the old "bait and switch" with me. Said they had the vehicle in Stock but when I got there it was sold, the same vehicle stayed on and other sites for days after and even when my wife and friends asked about the vehicle 2 days later they said they had it in Stock and to come and check it out. Pathetic really. If they didn't charge so much for their vehicles and priced them competitively then maybe they wouldn't have to resort to such underhanded means to try and sell a car. But then again, all of salisbury dealers have ridiculously high prices, it's the rip-off mecca of automobile purchasing! I guess they underestimate the consumer and figure that they won't do any research. C'mon you big, stupid car dealers-this is the 21st century! People are NOT stupid anymore, we do loads of research, especially before buying a car! Duh!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Joseph, we appreciate the feedback. We are aware of the information available via the web, and we do price our cars to the market. Our research shows we are actually priced below the market on most of our cars. With your case, the vehicle was sold. It's hard to hear sometimes, but that's the fact in this case. It didn't get taken down off the web for a couple days as it took that long for the buyer to take delivery, after we had agreed to the sale.
Jul 26, 2016
Teriffic responses and very competitive price. They didn't have the color vehicle I wanted
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

James, thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Next time you're in the market look us up again. If we don't have the specific color or options you're looking for we will do our very best to find it.
Jul 5, 2016
Very responsive and friendly but price was too high based on mileage.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Try us again next time Michael. We'll always try our best to sell cars.
Jun 30, 2016
Very helpful
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Thanks for the feedback Brandon!
Jun 23, 2016
Awesome communication
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Thanks for the feedback and positive comments Chris!
Jun 16, 2016
Good dealer
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

We're glad to be able to serve.
Jun 10, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Only problem was the car listed was not on the lot or even in transit from the factory.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Hi Russell. We do advertise cars for sale once we have a confirmed VIN number from the manufacturer. This allows our customers to secure a vehicle that meets their exacting needs without having to search longer, or do more homework. We apologize that we couldn't work it out with you.
Jun 8, 2016
Purchased this suv Great dealer
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Thanks so much Sherri! We appreciate the confidence and trust you have placed in us. Happy motoring!
May 12, 2016
The online person ,Leslie introduced me to Travis who I dealt with about the truck. He was extremely corgial and helpful. I felt no pressure from Tavis to buy the truck. I finally bought the truck on Tuesday.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Travis and Leslie are grateful for your comments and feedback, and we very much appreciate your business.
May 4, 2016
I drove almost 800 miles to buy a car from them. This was, without a doubt, the best car buying experience I have ever had and I have bought over a hundred cars in my life. Everyone was very professional, courteous and straight forward. There was no pressure to buy or to trade in my car. Even after we came to terms they again asked me if I was ok with the numbers and wanted to be sure I was comfortable with the transaction. In addition they were the only dealer in the COUNTRY to offer a lifetime powertrain warranty on a crazy racecar! I wish they were closer as I would go to no other dealer for cars in the future.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Marshall, you've got an exciting car and we are so appreciative of the opportunity to be of service. Have a blast in that thing!
Apr 25, 2016
Really nice salesman but could not get together on price.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Steve, we are grateful for the opportunity to work with you. We apologize for not being able to get together on price, it's our fault not yours. Give us a try again next time, we'll surely do our very best.
Mar 10, 2016
Had an appointment to look at a vehicle, so my husband drove 40 mins to look at it woth hopes of buying that day and when he got there he was told it had sold the day before. So we looked into another vehicle and they are literally one of the worst dealerships we have ever dealt with in our lives! Would never do business with them ever again!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Feb 16, 2016
Did not have what was avertised
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Feb 16, 2016
They are great
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jan 15, 2016
Very Good
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jan 5, 2016
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Dec 24, 2015
Excellent knowledge about our new Ram 3500, Mike M. made us very comfortable throughout the whole experience . We have a new 2016 Ram that won't fit under the Christmas tree- Merry Christmas to all! Thanks again!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Oct 22, 2015
Poor communication between sales people. One telling us on mon tues and we'd that it was being cleaned up and gone over and then on Thursday one tells us he sold it on Monday night . It was for our 15 yr old. Very disappointed
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Aug 6, 2015
they were ok just couldn't get the deal done
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jul 14, 2015
no that nice - just wanted to sell car - did not listen - pushy pushy pushy
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jul 3, 2015
I noted what my budget was for that car and that I lived over 2hrs away. Dealer didn't even read the comments. He was so anxious to make a sale he called me without even noticing how much I can pay and when we could not come to terms on the budget that I had submitted. He been preceded to try and sell me another car. If that was the case I could have bought a car in my local area.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Feb 28, 2015
Real nice & customer friendly!!!!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jan 15, 2015
Really really wanted this vehicle but did no come wth the v- 6 that I neede to pull my camper. Will be checking back
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Dec 10, 2014
great owner
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Old Dealer Reviews

Nov 3, 2014
Left no room for negotiation, even though the timing belt and water pump needed to be changed, so I left. As I left the dealership (10-15 mins later) I get a phone call, they told me there was a "Etching Fee" they took off $200. I finally explained to them where I wanted to price wise for the 3rd time. I got a call back saying we are good on price and then they decided to add a $700 "Doc Fee" .. I hung up on them. They lost my business right there. Then on Tuesday, I got another call asking how we make a deal .. I ended up finding a newer model with much less mileage for $5100 out the door.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Sep 18, 2014
Dealer responded quickly but would not provide an off-the-lot final price for the car via email. The sales rep wanted me to call or come by. I prefer to do pricing by email because it's documented.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Aug 1, 2014
Great response team. They are willing to answer all of your question leading up to you, the consumer, to make a decision without all the hassle you get at other places.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jul 23, 2014
I would give 0 stars if I could! Gerry Wood dealerships care about nothing but your money and everyone around knows it! You can't mention their name anywhere without receiving a negative response in return. My husband and I just bought the exact car from Honda of Concord that we were wanting from Gerry Wood only it had a lot less miles and was in MUCH better condition. (Not to mention it was a year newer) Ended up paying over a thousand dollars less at HOC and we weren't treated like idiots. I have never known a dealership to add so many nonsense "fees" to a bill of sale. The sticker price you see on their vehicles is NOT what they try to make you pay once you get inside! I'm glad so many reviews state that Gerry Wood went "above and beyond" to make a good deal...people better do their homework! Just because the monthly payment works for you doesn't mean you aren't being ripped off! Will not be back to any Gerry Wood dealership. Oh, and the car we wanted to purchase from them (thank goodness we didn't) is still sitting on the lot!
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jun 1, 2014
I drove 45 minutes to Gerry Wood to see a car they didn't really have. It hadn't been sold, they had not "received it from the transporter." Four days later it still had not arrived. On the fifth day it was not available due to too many repairs needed. Very fishy. Sounds like a bait and switch to get me there to sell another car.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
May 26, 2014
Iam very please with my experience at Gerry wood auto group.thank you so much.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Gerry Wood Auto Group:

Hello James! Thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We appreciate you.
Jan 27, 2014
he called the very next day with all the info l needed. A very nice and informative man.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Dec 30, 2013
Great experience
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Oct 7, 2013
Tamara , has been very, very, helpful and a delight to work with. Trying to find more time . Extremely busy time of year for me. Love this kar.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Oct 21, 2012
dealer raised price of car by $1000 dollars above add. Then added $2000 in fees.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Jul 12, 2012
Dealership is crooked. Advertised online price is not final price. Once you go to test drive and begin negotiating, they take their advertised price and add a $1600 reconditioning fee (even on very slightly used vehicles that took nothing to get prepped for sale) plus the state maximum doc fee of $599. In addition, the salesman was scared to death to go to the sales manager with my offer in fear he would get trouble. He finally did only to come back with a counter offer of "thank you for stopping in." Save your time if you think you are going to buy something near their advertised price, because you will only pay more or leave mad.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Mar 1, 2012
....Wonderful people.....was going to buy my car there, but bank screwed up my certified check...was forced to buy locally....I liked dealing with them...fair and honest
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Dec 24, 2011
They were very nice and accommodating.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Other Nearby Dealers

Abernethy Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram - 194 listings

1442 East Main Street, Lincolnton, NC 28092

12 reviews
M&L Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Superstore - 410 listings

406 Piedmont Dr, Lexington, NC 27295

15 reviews
Black Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram - 336 listings

831 Salisbury Rd, Statesville, NC 28677

13 reviews
Vann York Honda - 332 listings

422 Eastchester Drive, High Point, NC 27262

7 reviews
Crown Chrysler Dodge Jeep - 332 listings

3710 W Wendover Ave, Greensboro, NC 27407

7 reviews
Steve White Motors (CJDR) - 525 listings

3470 US Highway 70, Newton, NC 28658

25 reviews
Hendrick Kia of Concord - 309 listings

7550 Hendrick Auto Plaza Northwest, Concord, NC 28027

9 reviews
Union County Kia - 188 listings

2707 Gray Fox Rd, Monroe, NC 28110

14 reviews
Tim Marburger Honda

410 Aquadale Rd, Albemarle, NC 28001

11 reviews
Carolina Kia Hyundai - 297 listings

2431 N. Main ST., High Point, NC 27262

4 reviews
Asheboro Dodge - 209 listings

1709 E Dixie Dr, Asheboro, NC 27203

12 reviews
Stateline Chrysler Jeep Dodge - 3 listings

800 Gold Hill Road, Fort Mill, SC 29708

24 reviews
North Point Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Fiat SRT - 619 listings

7726 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106

6 reviews
Keffer Kia - 234 listings

271 West Plaza Drive, Mooresville, NC 28117

15 reviews
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge - 728 listings

20700 Torrence Chapel Rd, Cornelius, NC 28031

27 reviews

Popular Used Cars

Used Dodge Durango
486 Great Deals out of 23,226 listings starting at $1,100
Used Dodge Challenger
424 Great Deals out of 25,414 listings starting at $7,980
Used Chrysler 300
502 Great Deals out of 21,026 listings starting at $1,500
Used Jeep Wrangler
504 Great Deals out of 17,416 listings starting at $2,990
Used Jeep Grand Cherokee
1,156 Great Deals out of 70,017 listings starting at $495
Used Jeep Compass
507 Great Deals out of 22,535 listings starting at $2,800
Used Jeep Patriot
464 Great Deals out of 37,865 listings starting at $2,495
Used Dodge Charger
544 Great Deals out of 29,056 listings starting at $2,343
Used Dodge Viper
7 Great Deals out of 349 listings starting at $16,900
Used Jeep Renegade
187 Great Deals out of 25,813 listings starting at $12,997
Used Jeep Cherokee
345 Great Deals out of 53,827 listings starting at $2,495
Used Dodge Grand Caravan
473 Great Deals out of 32,069 listings starting at $2,499
Used Dodge Journey
728 Great Deals out of 32,026 listings starting at $1,995
Used Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
488 Great Deals out of 38,307 listings starting at $8,997
Used Dodge Dart
355 Great Deals out of 16,399 listings starting at $4,751