Mel's Motors

Is this your dealership? Sign up for a dealer account

1210 Elmwood Ave
Providence, RI 02907

Sales: (401) 771-7408

Closed Today (Sun)
Show business hours
All reviewers have been verified to have contacted this dealer – Learn More
Nov 28, 2017
dana jensen
I was contacted with hours.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Thank you very much for this review
Nov 11, 2017
Bad dealer,over a$1000 dollar in repairs When I called to talk about it he stopped Answering the phone sometimes keeping me in holds for 30 minuets
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

most people come to our dealership because they save up to $3000 in book value. I don't believe that this vehicle cost you $1000 in repairs, unless you wanted it to be up to new car standards.

p.s. why would I keep you on hold for 30 minutes?
Oct 29, 2017
Guru9XTKB
Great service .
Is this review helpful? Yes | No
Sep 15, 2017
be_good
5
BUYERS BEWARE !!! They gave me a CarFax report from different dealership and was no accidents on it with clean history. Salesman was rude and place it self very shady. So When I got home I decide to spend $40 and run CarFax report my self(That was my best $40 I ever spend.) I was Shocked !!! 2 Previous Accidents ! Unbelievable, they not just lying to you they giving you fake reports !!! Run! ... Run for any Cost !
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

I'm very surprised that someone would lye and say that I gave them a CARFAX report. We do not supply CARFAX reports do to that fact that CARFAX is not TOTALLY CORRECT and they are 6 MONTHS BEHIND.? All the vehicle information for our vehicles is on line on GARUES. Vehicle history reports, (UP TO DATE INFO.) on how many owners, any accidents and any title issues. Also for this person who say's that we are ghetto, is totally wrong, where do you live buddy? Why did you come down here on your own free will, WE DID'T SAY YOU HAD TO COME HERE?? You should of done your homework before you came down a
 More ...
Sep 8, 2017
I would of have loved to have done business with them, but they do not offer auto financing and because of that it was a huge disappointment and let down because they had a great vehicle I would have purchased from them on the spot.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

I don't get this bad review? I tell all my customers that we don't offer financing, however you they can go to your own bank or credit union. I also tell them what banks and credit unions that give good rates, so shop around! Obviously, this person (who ever they are) don't have credit and is mad that we don't have buy here pay here?
Aug 11, 2017
Mgpf99
CC was easy to deal with. Vehicle was in good shape for the money and the Miles were low. Paint was scratched up, but it's a used vehicle made in 2003. Would recommend to all.
Is this review helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Thank you very much for the great review, I appreciate your recognition!
Aug 1, 2017
Ivanpu01
My overall experience was great! The owner was very professional and welcoming and made the overall process easy. Was also willing to look at and fix a few things wrong with the car after purchase. Great cars and customer service!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Thank you very much for the great review, I appreciate your recognition!
Jul 7, 2017
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS DEALERSHIP. I was contacted about a car I had inquired on. Ceecee, the apparent owner, scheduled a time for me to test drive said car with him later in the day. I arrive on time and no one is at the dealership. There's a sign on the door that says be back in ten so, natutally, I decide to wait for 10 minutes. Well, ten minutes pass, then twenty, then thirty, and then I decide to call ceecee to find out what's going on. That plan fails as I am sent to voicemail. I leave a voicemail explaining the situation and say I can wait for a little longer but to please call me back and reschedule a time to see this car. About 5 minutes after I left the voicemail two men arrived at the dealership. One of them was ceecee. He had no idea what I was doing there and didn't remember that we had spoken that morning and scheduled a time for test drive that same afternoon. As we enter the tiny shack in the back of the dealership ceecee asks me if I'm "here on my own". (I'm a young girl, but I also garentree the salary I'm pulling is probably more than what CeeCee is working with here. I was ready to buy the car I wanted to test drive in straight cash.) Then he asks me what car I am there to see as if he did not call me about a specific car that morning. I was a little in all of the fact that you couldn't even remember, so I told him I didn't think I wanted to do business somewhere that was this unorganized. CeeCee had nothing to say to that, mind you there was no apology for being late anywhere in this. As I go to get in my car I realize that CeeCee and the other man parked my vehicle in so I couldn't even pull away from the curb in front of their lot. I go inside and ask them to move the vehicle, and that is how that day ended. Recently I get another call from Mel's Motors. It was CeeCee. He was calling to see if I was still interested in the vehicle that I inquired about. I asked him if he remembered who we was calling, he said no. I said it's the girl from a few Saturdays ago who waited for you for a half hour, and that triggered his memory. I said "how do you not remember this is the exact form of unorganized I was mentioning when I was at your dealership". Then I got hung up on. CeeCee is a joke of a businessmen people please avoid this place.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Sorry that this Girl was so upset about buying a USED  car?
Jul 6, 2017
rudman87
The owner was very pleasant and professional. Unfortunately, the car I was interested in had very recently been sold. I test drove another vehicle. The owner was frank and seemed quite honest in conversations regarding other vehicles..
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Thank you very much for this wonderful review.
Jun 27, 2017
So me and my wife have been looking for a car for her and we have bump into Mel's car dealer in providence Ri on car gurus , we live in Massachusetts so we contacted the dealership and spoke to cici and inquire on a Mazda CX-9 with 84,000 miles I ask cici if the car was available to see and that I was an 1 hour and 15 min aways he said yes is here come down to see it so as we spoke I drove down with my wife so when I got there and spoke to this guy name cici about the car I was completely surprised that cici told us that he have sold the car wowww!! Unbelievable made us drive to him for more than an hour to tell us that but I then said you sold the car while we where coming to see you why not call us back and not waste our time !!ok now here is the best part beware of the scam!! Dealership make u come and see there inventory even if they advertise a car that is not in theirs inventory .. 2 day later I call again since the same car is still listed on car gurus this time I inquire with a different name and to my surprise cici tells me that the car is available but it will in next week buyer beware!!! Bad business will not recommend and did not even apologize.for my ordeal stay away!!!
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

First of all, the customer had called me and emailed me 4 days before coming down from Mass., so I waited 4 days.  During that wait time of 4 days, I took a deposit from another customer on it. Once I take a deposit from a customer, I WILL NOT take another deposit from another customer (that's bad business). I did not make the customer drive down, he drove down on his own free will. The original customer did not get approved on the loan for the vehicle. In the meantime, I did have another Mazda CX-9 coming into inventory in another week. Due to our low prices, we do have a quick turn around. I
 More ...
Jun 10, 2017
Excellent experience overall. Gus did his best to meet our expections and went beyond that. Definitely would do bussiness with him again!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 21, 2017
Bought the car after going up and looking at it, absolutely in love with the deal, car was beautiful with all the gadgets you could hope for . Definitely a steal , the salesmen CC was awesome , not pushy and helped us feel good about everything, would certainly buy again, in fact my Dad just might when the time is right.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 21, 2017
Dealer answers the next day but even though the car was listed as sitting for 44 days at that point, they said it was sold the day before for $205 more than they had listed it for. Coincidence on the timing of selling it maybe but who pays more than they are asking for on a used car? Maybe I'm missing something here but that seems odd.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 18, 2017
Fast response. Good communication.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 5, 2017
GuruYHHY
very quick response car was as advertised no pressure to buy
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 4, 2017
Tom is a very good salesman, not "pushy" ,Chris is a great guy also , the two of them, in my opinion, are very good , fair, and respectable people , when I buy another vehicle, these are my guys , nobody else!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 2, 2017
Not positive experience. Car had an up to date inspection sticker on it, but when taken to a independent mechanic, the mechanic would not pass the vehicle due to many things that were broken or not up to standard. Something just doesn't add up with Mel's Motors. Would not recommend.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

Sorry but I do not know who Jack is? second of all, Jack never took the vehicle back to us to support these allegations. Independent mechanics are out to make money on customers who bring their vehicles to them, they do not work for nothing? If Jack reveals his real name and what kind of vehicle he purchased, maybe I can look up the sales agreement!
Feb 22, 2017
Great response time salesman went the xtra mile to get us a discounted price,,will recommend friends n family
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Feb 2, 2017
Bph996
Marty was great. He didn't waste my time with the usual sales lines. We negotiated a fair price for the truck and the paperwork sailed right through the registry without a hitch. I have more than a thousand miles on the truck now without any issues. I would definitely purchase with him again. Thx Marty.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Dec 21, 2016
Called back immediately. Provided details and was respectful.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Nov 23, 2016
Marty was very cordial and showed me the car that I was there to see. I gave him a deposit and after more consideration cancelled the deal the next day. Marty without hesitation refunded my deposit. I would do business with him again if he ever has a car I am interested in.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Nov 18, 2016
Llccll321
The salesman was great, understaending my budget, he gave me a great car at a good price and an excellent warranty. I would recommend him to my friends!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Nov 9, 2016
Got a nice car at a great price!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Nov 7, 2016
Excellent buying experience. Car was in great condition. No complaints would buy from them again.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Sep 20, 2016
Got back to me really fast and seemed nice
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Jul 19, 2016
This dealer was not very good price was firm but didn't say. Would not budge on the price at all
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Jul 5, 2016
good thing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
May 30, 2016
Dealers called me back in a timely manner and although I didn't buy a car I feel they were very respectful!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
May 29, 2016
Excellent person to talk to. To far to drive
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
May 7, 2016
ljmdonald
Called rate back and told me all about the car, will try to drive out to see it.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 5, 2016
i had a good reception the price is going to come down and they will inform me
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Mar 22, 2016
There were many things that needed repair on this car. Car was not detailed when I saw it. Car rode poorly on the test drive. Dealer just kept saying that they would correct what was needed to pass inspection, but was not clear about who would take responsibility for other issues.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Mar 10, 2016
once we touched basis and i saw/drove the car , i bought it that day. dealer was easy to work with and was honest with me about the car as far as i know. car was well presented . only have owned it 2 days but so far it is great. would recomend this dealership so far. kathy
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Feb 17, 2016
we passed on the Saturn .. but the rep was very responsive ...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Feb 13, 2016
Within 10 minutes they had two salesman hanging on me while another party waited directly behind me unassisted. The Carfax I was given came from a different dealership. Very Sketchy.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Jan 7, 2016
Was a waste of my time. Made an appointment to see vehicle and when I got there it was so close to all other cars that I couldn't really see the condition ,which what I saw of it was pretty poor. Then they offered me $1,200.00 for my vehicle which is worth about $5,000.00 Kelly blue book value
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Response from Mel's Motors:

our car is worth 13380 on kbb and we have it listed at 7995.00   he was getting wholesale for his trade that was rotted out and unsafe he should of sold for 5000 and brought us in cash. only a 2995.oo trade diffrence
Dec 18, 2015
The long and the short of the story is that all is well when you bring in your money to purchase a vehicle. When a problem is reported, the manager will tell you that he has to look into it. After that he does not return your phone calls..
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Read 2 old reviews
Nov 16, 2015
Very rude !!! I would have bought the car from him but it wasn't a cheap vehicle and his attitude was very bad . His name Ricardo . Take your business elsewhere ..
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Oct 12, 2015
Purchased a great car at a great price. Staff was friendly, fast. Definately would buy another car from Global.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No

Other Nearby Dealers

Bald Hill Kia - 191 listings
1021 Bald Hill Rd Warwick, RI 02886
2 reviews
Donald's Car Corner - 67 listings
295 Huntington Ave Providence, RI 02909
3 reviews
Cullco Auto Sales - 48 listings
1300 Park Avenue Cranston, RI 02910
2 reviews
The Car Lot Inc - 44 listings
441 Dyer Ave Cranston, RI 02920
3 reviews
Electra Auto Sales - 43 listings
42 Putnam Pike Johnston, RI 02919
3 reviews
Dorman's Auto Center, Inc. - 32 listings
434 Prospect ST Pawtucket, RI 02860
4 reviews
J & T Auto Sales - 31 listings
561 Providence St. Warwick, RI 02886
5 reviews
Caseys Auto Sales - 26 listings
2130 W Shore Rd Warwick, RI 02889
3 reviews
Devaney Auto Sales & Service - 25 listings
741 N Broadway East Providence, RI 02914
1 review
Elmwood Auto Sales II - 22 listings
975 Charles St North Providence, RI 02904
2 reviews
Cullco Auto Sales - 15 listings
1300 Park Ave Cranston, RI 02910
1 review
Miracle Auto Sales - 14 listings
580 Reservoir Ave Cranston, RI 02910
1 review
Champion Motorsports - 14 listings
49 Mink St Seekonk, MA 02771
2 reviews
Barry Bixby Automotive - 7 listings
Appointment Only Barrington, RI 02806
5 reviews
Shannon Motors
648 Killingly St Johnston, RI 02919
1 review

Popular Used Cars

Used Ford F-150
3,153 Great Deals out of 219,406 listings starting at $700
Used Ford F-250 Super Duty
393 Great Deals out of 48,801 listings starting at $1,899
Used Chevrolet Silverado 1500
2,616 Great Deals out of 174,516 listings starting at $1,000
Used Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD
366 Great Deals out of 30,448 listings starting at $3,000
Used Ram 1500
1,381 Great Deals out of 119,741 listings starting at $5,900
Used Ram 2500
179 Great Deals out of 35,242 listings starting at $6,995
Used Toyota Camry
1,053 Great Deals out of 87,034 listings starting at $1,296
Used Toyota Corolla
973 Great Deals out of 63,761 listings starting at $1,850
Used Honda Civic
805 Great Deals out of 61,427 listings starting at $950
Used Honda CR-V
860 Great Deals out of 59,622 listings starting at $1,495
Used Toyota RAV4
830 Great Deals out of 51,464 listings starting at $1,600
Used Honda Accord
1,115 Great Deals out of 72,482 listings starting at $850
Used Nissan Rogue
795 Great Deals out of 67,877 listings starting at $2,110
Used Nissan Altima
1,265 Great Deals out of 78,275 listings starting at $1,695
Used Ford Escape
1,231 Great Deals out of 103,225 listings starting at $500