HD Motors

Is this your dealership? Sign up for a dealer account

3237 E Stone Dr
Kingsport, TN 37660

Sales: (423) 288-0298

Today 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
(Closed Now)
Show business hours
All reviewers have been verified to have contacted this dealer – Learn More
Mar 23, 2018
Bought a 1987 "classic restored" 1987 Chevrolet V10 Silverado in July 2017 for 13,000$. Below is a list of repairs I have had in 8 months. 1. New Engine (old blew rod) 2. New Transmission ( bad torque converter/ bad gears started slipping) 3. Starter 4. Battery 5. Fuel pump 6. Oil pump 7. Exhaust system (old rusting out) 8. Driveshaft & U-joints 9. Oil pressure switch & gauge 10. New shocks (rough riding/old) Almost 7800$ in repairs (parts&labor) in 8 months for a "restored/classic" 87 Silverado I paid 13K for. This is outrageous and nearly everything beside axles, rear end and cosmetic have been tore up, broke or malfunctioning in the 8 months I've owned it. Call. Jesse @Porters Tire& Auto, Mike @Tri City Transmission, and Eddie @T&E Auto Service and ask them what kind of shape this "classic" 13,000$ truck was in. Driven less than 3200 miles in 8 months and had all these issues and never taken off road... HIGHLY, EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
while we hate to hear from a previous client who has had problems , this was & is a 31year old truck. the battery & starter & u joints are wear items..  im not aware of the useage the truck has had in the past 8 months & there was no warranty given or implied with the sale of this 31 year old truck.
i offered to help the customer with finding more affordable parts & labor but he decided the expense of these repairs was the best for him. once again we hate to hear from a customer having issues but 8 months later on a 31 year old truck isnt anything we could help with.
sinc
 More ...
Jan 1, 2018
Guru5WV7K
This car is in horrible shape!! The dealer had to jump start the car! Left rear door would not open!!! Right window wiper falling off!! Delayed brakes when test driving it. Also sounded like something was wrong with transmission! 8 previous owners!!! Why do many? Car is worn inside, mainly front seats and wood dash. Back seats lookex fine. Wasted trip to drive 2 hrs to get to this dealer. Staff friendly. Also, no gas in car. We barely could test drive because of this!!! Dealer not prepared for serious customers.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
we apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding that would have occured on your visit. we have a large inventory & often have dead batterys. we drove the vehicle you looked at & while we did find the rear  door not working & the wiper loose we didnt find any concerns with the transmission or brakes.  we take great efforts to accurately price the vehicle for its overall condtion even if it is a bargain lot cash special vehicle.
Nov 12, 2017
GuruZS4J6
Informative conversation with Oscar. Much appreciated.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thank you !!
Oct 24, 2017
Larrylee2
Great
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Sep 25, 2017
psgreg
Outstanding
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks!
Sep 4, 2017
spanishrice
Great and honest salesman named Oscar
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!
Aug 30, 2017
cobby96
Fast response, answered all questions, very professional. The distance is the only reason for not purchasing this truck.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Jun 3, 2017
Mamba1911
Replied to email with requested info.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
May 28, 2017
Was about to blow up, not even close too pictures , I drove 50 miles for a one owner smoke machine , I didn't even drive , most of the inventory has some sort of issues , junk you expect to see at a buy here pay here place , but want great lot prices , thing wouldn't start , parts zip tied on , great salesman , just horrible options ro choose from , both myself and my kid were looking for horses , they did have two or three great ones our of 100, but were priced crazy like 3000 over retail .
6 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
sorry that you couldnt find a bargain lot cash special vehicle thats up to your standards.  while we try to accurately represent these wholesale to the public cash specials as best we can , keep in mind any car thats $2,999 may have a few issues such as this one.  
while its kind of hard to completely understand your review , we are having the windows fixed on it so it may be more appealing to you when thats done.
thanks for the review & maybe we can earn your business in the future.
Mar 29, 2017
Asked one specific question by email. Is there any rust? Was told no, car was solid. Drove 70 miles to see vehicle. Car was ate up in rust and wouldn't start.
9 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
we sincerely regret any miscommunication that may have occured on this occasion. with the size of our inventory sometimes we have dead battery's on our cash special vehicles.
we regret the vehicle wasnt represented as well as it could have been. after you pointed it out to us we did see the rust on the rocker panel between the lower door jamb & runningboards.  we will know from now on the look in that spot for rust in the future.
Mar 21, 2017
I contacted this company after they never would contact me back. Every vehicle I was interseted in they tried to discourage me from. Extremely strange. I dont think they were interested in cash at all. They seemed to have wanted to charge a price so you would pay almost double what the car books, plus interest for. Maybe only interested in customers who are desperate and have bad credit. I wish they would have given honest answers.
8 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
while we are sorry for your negative review we do not finance cars here.  we have all our below retail cash prices rite there on the car with the carfax report.  why would we want to attract bad credit customers if we do not finance.  we do not offer buy here pay here nor do we offer lot financing.  we will help customers with financing thru local banks & credit unions but we do no financing here. we are sorry we could not help you with your current financial situation.
Feb 6, 2017
wildfire925
was told they had buy here pay here when we went but the dealer we were told they don't finance the attitude turned us off to the point we left the lot we are looking for a Good used car for my teen daughter she was frightened by the way the 'salesman' responded to her question I would NOT recommend H D Motors ~
6 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
sorry we couldnt help you with your current financial situation. not all dealers offer buy here pay here financing.  we strive to be a market leader in prices & inventory & we offer financing options thru local banks & credit unions.  once again we apologize that we couldnt help you with your search for a buy here pay here dealer.
Jan 16, 2017
excelent
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Jan 15, 2017
3 grand for a wore out jeep and would not negotiate on price at all.. Bad buisness gets bad review worst used dealer around..
12 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
we work as hard as we can to have affordable vehicles for all price ranges.  we tried to help you with a car you could afford & we are sorry this one was out of your reach but thats no reason to send in a bad review. we will work harder to try & get more cars in your price range.
Dec 10, 2016
yamaracer
Quick response, I found another vehicle before getting to this one.
17 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
congratultaions!  while we wish we had sold you one , we are glad you found a deal you liked!  thanks for checking with us!
Dec 3, 2016
Great staff. Let us ask questions and we're open to us having vechile inspected. We enjoyed our experience with them a lot.
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks so much!!
Nov 17, 2016
Quickly responded with helpful information
17 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the interest!
Oct 30, 2016
cars are as good as they look and are described. they will tell you upfront everything. I came from hickory, nc to hd motors. bought the 02 merc. sable for the ad price of 999. better car than i was expecting.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks so much! we try as hard as we can to represent all our cars as best we can.
thanks for your review!
Oct 27, 2016
Slow to respond and didn't seem to motivate. Took for a ride. When I spoke my opinion. He was rather rude.
8 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Sep 13, 2016
Great.
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Sep 8, 2016
Got back with me but was suppose to repair something on car and then get back with but still have not heard if car is fixed.
10 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Aug 11, 2016
very nice reply email. Still looking. Great service so far from them
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Jun 3, 2016
Great
14 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Read 14 old reviews
May 9, 2016
Responded quickly. Still trying to make it down there.
14 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Apr 27, 2016
Contacted me. Didn't pester or constantly try to contact me!
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the positive feedback!  we try to ensure a relaxed no pressure experience.
no relentless follow up or sales calls.  we dont sell or give any info to third party's like
most dealers do.  thanks again!!
Apr 2, 2016
This dealer was rude and did not want to deal at all. I had a cash offer and they did not want to discuss reducing their price. I probably would have bought the vehicle if they had wanted to negotiate at least some.
6 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
sorry for the inconvenience but our wholesale to the public " bargain lot" cash special priceleaders are as cheap as they can get when they are priced. we always encourage our clients to shop for the car they can afford. we work very hard to ensure we have affordable cars in all price ranges to meet our customers needs.
Mar 12, 2016
The dealer contacted me. I spoke to a guy named Jim. I also spoke to another guy, but I didn't get his name. Jim and the other guy were very nice. They treated me with courtesy and professionalism. HD Motors is a great dealership. Even though I purchased a different car, from a different seller, I would definitely recommend HD Motors to anyone. Sincerely, Joey
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Feb 11, 2016
Vehicle had check engine light on. Looked at another and no one would wait on us
3 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Oct 29, 2015
Hard to work with. Won't. Finance certain vehicles. Rude to my wife I give it a No Go. Thumbs down
5 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
While helping credit challenged folks is one of our greatest challenges , we are bound by the financial institutions lending policies.  We sincerely regret that we were not able to help you in your Current financial situation.
Oct 28, 2015
car wouldnt hardly start said for that price you can fix it pshhh yeah right not dropping 3k on a car that barely starts
5 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
we apologize for your inconvenience on this event.  with the extensive inventory we manage we often have cars with dead battery's.  we will try harder in the future to ensure that all our cars have fully charged battery's including our "priceleader" fixer upper cars.
Oct 22, 2015
Seem like they are honest people
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks!
Feb 18, 2015
ended up purchasing from a sister dealership of theirs and i love my new suburban!
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Feb 17, 2015
Bought a car for my son. Everyone was great
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
Aug 15, 2014
Found them honest and helpful
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!!
come see us again!!
Jun 5, 2014
Friendly and helpful through the whole process I would buy from them again
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks & we hope to see you again!!
Feb 28, 2014
Very quick response and very nice, but they are only open on week days so i was actually never able to go over there and see their cars
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
we are now  open monday thru saturday from 9am till 6pm.  we find these hours best fit our customer base.  
Jan 11, 2014
very prompt with requested info
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Is this helpful? Yes | No
Response from current dealership owner:
thanks for the review!

Other Nearby Dealers

Grindstaff Ford - 440 listings
2224 W Elk Ave Elizabethton, TN 37643
2 reviews
CarMax Bristol - 284 listings
449 Pinnacle Parkway Bristol, TN 37620
7 reviews
Morgan McClure Ford Inc - 86 listings
16600 Riverside Drive Saint Paul, VA 24283
2 reviews
Friendship Budget Center of Johnson City - 53 listings
3705 Bristol Hwy Johnson City, TN 37601
1 review
Carls Auto Inc - 52 listings
105 Franklin Dr Blountville, TN 37617
5 reviews
6 Euclid Auto - 30 listings
6 Euclid Ave Bristol, VA 24201
1 review
Houser & Son Auto Sales - 25 listings
3183 Hwy 126 Blountville, TN 37617
7 reviews
Don Hill Automotive - 23 listings
2523 E Stone Dr Kingsport, TN 37660
1 review
Birkners Auto Sales - 14 listings
241 Smalling Rd Elizabethton, TN 37643
5 reviews
Hagy's Auto Sales - 12 listings
5453 Fort Henry Dr Kingsport, TN 37663
4 reviews
Jareds Auto Sales - 9 listings
227 Bluff City Hwy Bristol, TN 37620
1 review
Morgan-McClure Chevrolet GMC - 4 listings
16363 Us Highway 58 Castlewood, VA 24224
2 reviews
Chaparral Used Cars
5796 Highway 11 E Piney Flats, TN 37686
1 review
S and G Auto
5796 Highway 11 E Piney Flats, TN 37686
1 review
Cars Wholesale
287 Faith Cir Johnson City, TN 37604
1 review

Popular Used Cars

Used Ford F-150
2,280 Great Deals out of 208,575 listings starting at $1,300
Used Ford F-250 Super Duty
493 Great Deals out of 40,207 listings starting at $2,800
Used Chevrolet Silverado 1500
1,780 Great Deals out of 153,004 listings starting at $1,000
Used Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD
383 Great Deals out of 30,073 listings starting at $3,395
Used Ram 1500
895 Great Deals out of 121,224 listings starting at $3,900
Used Ram 2500
225 Great Deals out of 31,073 listings starting at $6,995
Used Toyota RAV4
506 Great Deals out of 78,656 listings starting at $1,995
Used Nissan Rogue
525 Great Deals out of 77,015 listings starting at $2,000
Used Toyota Camry
746 Great Deals out of 72,550 listings starting at $1,000
Used Honda CR-V
604 Great Deals out of 76,631 listings starting at $1,192
Used Honda Civic
352 Great Deals out of 49,260 listings starting at $1,499
Used Toyota Corolla
600 Great Deals out of 66,186 listings starting at $900
Used Honda Accord
564 Great Deals out of 103,229 listings starting at $950
Used Ford Escape
1,010 Great Deals out of 111,408 listings starting at $1,000
Used Chevrolet Equinox
1,001 Great Deals out of 79,495 listings starting at $1,500